FFF and the César Awards

February 17, 2022

17 February 2022



French Film Festival UK

at this year’s César Awards


Feature films which were part of the official Festival selection in 2020 and 2021 are widely represented at the 47th awards ceremony taking place later this month.



In total, films from the Official Selection collected 18 nominations across ten categories, including six for Catherine Corsini’s The Divide, five for Jacques Audiard’s Paris, 13th District and four for Titane by Julia Ducournau.

Leïla Bekhti (The Restless), Valeria Bruni Tedeschi (The Divide) and Léa Seydoux (France) will all compete for Best Actress, while Damien Bonnard (The Restless), Benoît Magimel (Peaceful) and Pio Marmaï (The Divide) will do the same for Best Actor.

Catherine Corsini’s The Divide is nominated for Best Film.  We were delighted to welcome her to this year’s Festival at Ciné Lumière in London where she introduced the film and took part in a Q&A afterwards. Two from our official selection in 2021 are vying for Best First Film: Gagarine, (Fanny Liatard and Jérémy Trouilh) and Slalom (Charlène Favier). 

The themes evoked testify the variety and vitality of Francophone cinema. The French Film Festival UK wishes them well-deserved success and recognition during the ceremony to be held on Friday 25 February and compered by Antoine De Caunes.


FFF titles in Key Categories


🏆 Best Film 🏆

  • The Divide / La Fracture (Catherine Corsini)

🏆 Best Director 🏆

  • Julia Ducournau (Titane)

🏆 Best Screenplay 🏆

  • Catherine Corsini, Laurette Polmanss, Agnès Feuvre (The Divide / La Fracture)

🏆 Best Screenplay Adaptation 🏆

  • Céline Sciamma, Léa Mysius, Jacques Audiard (Paris, 13th District / Les Olympiades)  

🏆 Best Actress 🏆

  • Leïla Bekhti (The Restless / Les Intranquilles)
  • Valeria Bruni Tedeschi (The Divide / La Fracture)
  • Léa Seydoux (France)

🏆 Best Actor 🏆

  • Damien Bonnard (The Restless / Les Intranquilles)
  • Benoît Magimel (Peaceful / De son vivant)
  • Pio Marmaï (The Divide / La Fracture)

🏆 Best Actress in a Supporting Role 🏆

  • Aissatou Diallo Sagna (The Divide / La Fracture)

🏆 Best Female Newcomer 🏆

  • Noée Abita (Slalom)
  • Agathe Rousselle (Titane)
  • Lucie Zhang (Paris, 13th District / Les Olympiades)

🏆 Best Male Newcomer 🏆

  • Sami Outalbali (A Tale of Love and Desire / Une histoire d’amour et de désir)
  • Makita Samba (Paris, 13th District / Les Olympiades)

🏆 Best First Film 🏆

  • Gagarine (Fanny Liatard, Jérémy Trouilh)
  • Slalom (Charlène Favier)


The ceremony takes place on Friday 25 February! Remember to keep an eye on their website for all the latest from the ceremony. 



Sign up to our Newsletter

If you’re a fan of French films, why not sign up to our newsletter?

We’ll bring you our recommendations of the best Francophone titles, either on demand or in the cinema.  Whether you’re looking for a short film, or a full length feature there’s something for everyone.