MANON OF THE SPRING / MANON DES SOURCES (PG)

 

The tale resumes a decade later, focusing on Jean de Florette’s beautiful daughter, Manon (Emmanuelle Béart), a shepherdess with whom Ugolin (Daniel Auteuil) falls hopelessly in love but fails to win. When Manon eavesdrops on hunters and learns the truth about the Soubeyrans and their plot against her father, she blocks the water supply to the village at its source in a cave only she knows about. Pandemonium ensues as Manon’s scheme exacts revenge. Though deeply tragic, the story unfolds with charm, wit, and high spirits. Montand and Auteuil are superb in their roles as conniving villains who pay a terrible price, and Béart is magnificent as Manon.
 
Cast Emmanuelle Béart, Yves Montand, Daniel Auteuil, Hippolyte Girardot, Élisabeth Depardieu, Ticky Holgado  

Director Claude Berri | 1986 | France | 113 mins | UK Distributor Park Circus

FILM SHOWING

London Ciné Lumière: Thu 9 Nov 15:45

Glasgow Film Theatre: Fri 10 Nov 16:00, Mon 13 Nov 15:45, Tue 14 Nov 15:30, Wed 15 Nov 15:30 & Thu 16 Nov 15:30

Warwick Arts Centre: Mon 12 Nov 16:00

Leicester Phoenix Cinema: Sat 18 Nov 17:30

Chichester Cinema at New Park: Sat 18 Nov 18:00 & Fri 24 Nov 12:45

Edinburgh Filmhouse: Wed 22 Nov, 13:00, Thu 23 Nov 15:30 & Sat 25 Nov 15:45 (double bill with Jean de Florette with starts at 13:00)

Inverness Eden Court: Sun 26 Nov 15:00

Belper Ritz Cinema: Sun 26 Nov 17:00

Hereford Courtyard: Mon 27 Nov 14:30

Aberdeen Belmont Filmhouse: Sun 3 Dec 13:00

Northampton Errol Flynn Filmhouse: Sun 3 Dec 14:00

TRAILER

 

Follow us on Twitter

FOLLOW US!

fb_icon_325x325 twitterIcon RSSicon