JEAN DE FLORETTE (PG)

 

When hunchback tax collector Jean de Florette (Gérard Depardieu) arrives in 1920s Provence from the city to take over the inheritance of a farm, peasant farmer César Soubeyran (Yves Montand) and his simple nephew, Ugolin (Daniel Auteuil), deprive his property of water so that they can drive him away and acquire the land for a pittance. Director Claude Berri spent six years trying to acquire the rights to Marcel Pagnol’s two volume novel. Inspired by Pagnol’s own 1952 feature, Manon Des Sources, the story chronicled the destruction of an educated outsider by avaricious provincials, who meet their match in his free-spirited daughter. 

Cast Yves Montand, Gérard Depardieu, Daniel Auteuil, Élisabeth Depardieu, Emmanuelle Béart  

Director Claude Berri | 1986 | France/Italy/Switzerland | 115 mins | UK Distributor Park Circus  

A Greek tragedy done in southern French style, set amid the pressed-flower landscapes and the dark, cluttered interiors of the parched hill country behind Marseilles. New York Times

FILM SHOWING

London Ciné Lumière: Wed 8 Nov 15:45

Glasgow Film Theatre: Fri 10 Nov,  Mon 13 Nov,  Tue 14 Nov,  Wed 15 Nov, Thu 16 Nov 

Warwick Arts Centre: Sun 12 Nov 14:00 

Chichester Cinema at New Park: Fri 17 Nov & Thu 23 Nov

Leicester Phoenix: Sat 18 Nov 

Belper Ritz Cinema: Sun 19 Nov 

Edinburgh Filmhouse: Mon 20 Nov 11:00 (carers and babies), 13:00 Tue 21 Nov 15:15,  Sat 25 Nov 13:00 (25 nov only double bill with Manon on the Spring).

Hereford The Courtyard: Mon 20 Nov 

Inverness Eden Court: Sun 26 Nov 

Northampton Errol Flynn Filmhouse: Sun 26 Nov 15:00

Aberdeen Belmont Filmhouse: Sat 2 Dec 13:00

TRAILER

Follow us on Twitter

FOLLOW US!

fb_icon_325x325 twitterIcon RSSicon