DISCOVERY: BETWEEN TWO WORLDS

DISCOVERY

BETWEEN TWO WORLDS (N/C 15)
LE QUAI DE OUISTREHAM

WATCH THE TRAILER

Juliette Binoche stars as an author who, inspired by George Orwell’s The Road to Wigan Pier, goes undercover as a cleaning lady in a northern French port to research a book on job insecurity and social precariousness. It is the second fiction feature for screenwriter Carrère after The Moustache, which premiered in Cannes Directors’ Fortnight in 2005. 

The film is based on French journalist Florence Aubenas’ bestselling non-fiction work Le Quai de Ouistreham, which investigates increasing financial insecurity in French society through her experiences in the northern port city of Caen.

Director: Emmanuel Carrère
Cast: Juliette Binoche, Hélène Lambert, Didier Pupin, Emily Madeleine, Evelyne Porée, Léa Carne

2021 | France| 106 mins | UK distributor Curzon 

“There’s a satisfying added depth born out of the persuasively fleshed out performances and the focus on female friendship. ”             Screen Daily

      SCREENINGS
ABERDEEN BELMONT FILMHOUSE Sun 14 Nov (12:45) & (18:00)

DERBY QUAD  Wed 8 Dec (19:25)

CHICHESTER NEW PARK Mon 29 Nov (13:00) & Tue 30 Nov 18:15

EDINBURGH FILMHOUSE Sun 7 Nov (13:00) & (18:00)

GLASGOW FILM THEATRE Fri 12 Nov (14:50)

LEWES DEPOT Thu 2 Dec (18:00)

LONDON WATERMANS ARTS CENTRE Sun 21 Nov (13:00)

OSWESTRY KINOKULTURE Tue 23 Nov (19:30)

SHEFFIELD SHOWROOM Wed 15 Dec (17:45)

WARWICK ARTS CENTRE Thu 11 November (14:30)

 

© 2021 . Powered by WordPress. Theme by Viva Themes.