CLASSIC: THE SLEEPING CAR MURDERS

CLASSIC

THE SLEEPING CAR MURDERS (N/C 15)
 COMPARTIMENT TUEURS

This first feature by Franco-Greek director Costa-Gavras was adapted from a novel by Sébastien Japrisot and is a humorous, visually punchy take on the murder mystery. Six people share a sleeping compartment on a Paris-bound train. After they arrive, one of them is found strangled, and before long, the killer starts bumping off the remaining passengers. Yves Montand is superb as a harried police inspector coming down with the flu, who doggedly follows up every lead. Red herrings abound and the twists and thrills are masterfully executed with a dream cast including the late, great Michel Piccoli.

Director: Costas-Gavras
Cast: Michel Piccoli, Simone Signoret, Jacques Perrin, Catherine Allegret, Jean-Louis Trintignant

1965 | France| 95 mins | Print source IFCinéma

“Gripping and mysterious thriller… seat-edge suspense.” France Today

      SCREENINGS
DERBY QUAD   Mon 6 Dec (15:30)  & Tue 7 Dec (18:20)

LONDON CINE LUMIERE   Sun 5 Dec (14:00) & Tue 7 Dec (18:30)

RICHMOND STATION CINEMA   Mon 15 Nov (14:00); Tue 16 Nov (19:45);  Fri 19 Nov (14:00) & Tues 23 Nov (20:00)

ST ANDREWS BYRE THEATRE   Thu 11 Nov (10:30)

EDINBURGH SUMMERHALL   Sun 28 Nov (17:00) & Sun 12 Dec (15:00). Screening with Belle Etoille

 

 

 

© 2021 . Powered by WordPress. Theme by Viva Themes.