The Red Turtle / La tortue rouge (cert tbc)

turtleAlthough there is no dialogue the big questions the film asks, about ambition, acceptance and the beauty of companionship, ring loud in every frame. A man is shipwrecked on a tropical island inhabited by turtles, crabs and birds. When he builds a wooden raft, he is confronted by the eponymous turtle. The story then follows the milestones in his life on the island which include meeting a woman and starting a family. London-based Dutch animator Michael Dudok de WitfrenchfilmfirstLogo co-wrote the film’s story with French filmmaker Pascale Ferran. It adventurously links isolation and freedom and is the first international co-production for Japanese animation house Studio Ghibli. Presented in Cannes Un Certain Regard.

Director Michael Dudok de Wit I 2016 I 80mins I UK distrib STUDIOCANAL

Leeds International Film Festival Sun 6 Nov 15:45

Ciné Lumière Thu 10 Nov 18:50 + Guest (TBC)

Edinburgh Filmhouse Mon 14 Nov 13:10 & 18:10

Norwich Cinema City Thu 17 Nov 18:15

Dundee Contemporary Arts Sat 19 Nov 15:30

Glasgow Film Theatre Sat 19 Nov 14:30

Queen’s Film Theatre Belfast Sat 19 Nov 13:00

Hebden Bridge Picturehouse Sun 20 Nov 19:45

London Barbican Sun 20 Nov 14:00

Newcastle Tyneside Cinema Mon 21 Nov 18:45

Inverness Eden Court Sat 26 Nov 13:45

Saffron Screen Saffron Walden Mon 28 Nov 20:00

Aberdeen Belmont Filmhouse Fri 2 Dec 18:15

CHANGES FROM THE PRINTED BROCHURE

LONDON WATERMANS
p.16: GOLDEN YEARS Sun 19 Nov should read Sun 26 Nov 12:30
p.18: LOST IN PARIS Sun 26 Nov should read Sun 3 Dec 13:00
p.23 THIS IS OUR LAND  Sun 12 Nov Cancelled
p.27: GAUGUIN Sun 3 Dec should read Sun 12 Nov 13:00

Le TRAILER 2017

La BROCHURE 2017

Follow us on Twitter

FOLLOW US!

fb_icon_325x325 twitterIcon RSSicon

WITH THE SUPPORT OF

BFI_SD_LOTTERY FUNDED_COL_LOGO_GLOW_POS (2)