April and the Extraordinary World / Avril et le monde truqué (PG)

aprilA beautiful, inventive and uncannily satisfying new example of animated sci-fi from directors Christian Desmares and Franck Ekinci, who have adapted a graphic novel by Jacques Tardi. April has an alternate-history peg that’s irrepressibly Gallic. In the late 19th century, a scheme hatched by Napoleon III to engineer super-soldiers scientifically goes horribly awry. The result is an early 20th century of stunted technology. Instead of wars over oil, there are wars over charcoal. And every scientist who shows promise disappears from public view in short order. The film’s designs and contraptions also evoke Jules Verne, Fritz Lang’s Metropolis frenchfilmfirstLogoand more.

Voices Marion Cotillard, Philippe Katerine, Jean Rochefort, Olivier Gourmet, Marc-André Grondin, Bouli Lanners, Anne Coesens
Directors Franck Ekinci, Christian Desmares I 2015 I 103mins I UK distrib STUDIOCANAL

Kirkcaldy Adam Smith Theatre      Sun 6 Nov 14:00

Dundee Contemporary Arts      Sun 13 Nov 15:30

Northampton Errol Flynn Filmhouse      Thu 17 Nov 18:15

Edinburgh Filmhouse      Sat 19 Nov 15:40

Chichester Cinema at New Park      Sat 19 Nov 15:30 & Sun 20 Nov 18:00

Heaton Moor Savoy Cinema      Mon 21 Nov 18:15

Thanet Film Society at Broadstairs Palace Cinema      Tue 29 Nov 20:00

Chapter Arts Centre Cardiff     Tue 29 Nov 18:10

Nottingham Broadway Cinema      Sat 3 Dec 14:00

CHANGES FROM THE PRINTED BROCHURE

LONDON WATERMANS
p.16: GOLDEN YEARS Sun 19 Nov should read Sun 26 Nov 12:30
p.18: LOST IN PARIS Sun 26 Nov should read Sun 3 Dec 13:00
p.23 THIS IS OUR LAND  Sun 12 Nov Cancelled
p.27: GAUGUIN Sun 3 Dec should read Sun 12 Nov 13:00

Le TRAILER 2017

La BROCHURE 2017

Follow us on Twitter

FOLLOW US!

fb_icon_325x325 twitterIcon RSSicon

WITH THE SUPPORT OF

BFI_SD_LOTTERY FUNDED_COL_LOGO_GLOW_POS (2)