Arab Blues

Un divan à Tunis (N/C 12+)

Dir Manele Labidi

Golshifteh Farahani stars as radiant yet tough Selma, a Tunis-born psychoanalyst who, having lived in Paris since age 10, has returned to Tunisia to set up a practice in a country where people habitually talk like crazy but not to mental health professionals. Via a colourful array of characters still finding their bearings post-Arab Spring, first-time writer-director Manele Labidi packs in a lot of affectionate observations, all set to an original retro-jazzy electric guitar-based score.


Cast Golshifteh Farahani, Majd Mastoura, Aïcha Ben Miled, Feriel Chamari, Hichem Yacoubi, Najoua Zouhair, Jamel Sassi, Ramla Ayar
Director Manele Labidi | 2019 | France | 88 mins | Int sales MK2 Films / Print IFcinéma


“Culture-clash comedy… a dose of absurdity and some gentle social commentary.”

– Eye for Film –


FILM SHOWING

 

London Ciné Lumière Fri 6 Nov (20:45)
  Sun 8 Nov (17:40)
Glasgow Film Theatre Sat 14 Nov (check cinema website for times)
  Mon 16 Nov (check cinema website for times)
St Andrews Byre Thu 19 Nov (19:00)
Sheffield Showroom Workstation Sat 28 Nov (15:10)
  Mon 30 Nov (18:10)
London Watermans Arts Centre Sun 6 Dec (16:00)
Derby Quad Wed 16 Dec (18:00)
  Thu 17 Dec (20:15)

 

TRAILER