The Sleeping Car Murders

Compartiment tueurs (N/C 15)

Dir Costa-Gavras

This first feature by Franco-Greek director Costa-Gavras was adapted from a novel by Sébastien Japrisot and is a humorous, visually punchy take on the murder mystery. Six people share a sleeping compartment on a Paris-bound train. After they arrive, one of them is found strangled, and before long, the killer starts bumping off the remaining passengers. Yves Montand is superb as a harried police inspector coming down with the flu, who doggedly follows up every lead. Red herrings abound and the twists and thrills are masterfully executed with a dream cast including the late, great Michel Piccoli who died earlier this year.


Cast Michel Piccoli, Simone Signoret, Jacques Perrin, Catherine Allegret, Jean-Louis Trintignant
Director Costa-Gavras | 1965 | France | 135 mins | Int sales Warner Bros (France) / Print IFcinéma


“Gripping and mysterious thriller… seat-edge suspense.”

– France Today –


FILM SHOWING

 

London Ciné Lumière Sun 8 Nov (14:00) & Wed 11 Nov (18:00)
Inverness Eden Court Sun 15 Nov (19:00) & Mon 16 Nov (11:00)
Edinburgh Filmhouse Sat 21 Nov (14:00)
Glasgow Film Theatre Sun 22 Nov (check cinema website for times)
Chichester Cinema at New Park Sat 28 Nov (20:30) & Tue 1 Dec (14:15)
Lewes Depot Sun 29 Nov (14:00) & Wed 2 Dec (11:00)
Nottingham Broadway Mon 7 Dec (check cinema website for times)
Derby Quad Wed 9 Dec (17:30) & Thu 10 Dec (19:45)
Oban Phoenix Fri 11 Dec (19:30) & Mon 14 Dec (14 :30)

 

TRAILER